IMG-1832 (1)

New York, NY – The New York City Council Progressive Caucus is welcoming new Co-Chairs and Vice-Chairs to lead the Progressive Caucus for the 2018-2021 term: Council Members Diana Ayala, Ben Kallos, Keith Powers, and Carlos Menchaca.

The Caucus, with the new energy and ideas of its new executive board and new members, and with the leadership of Council Speaker Corey Johnson, hopes to build on last term’s accomplishments, further its 2018 policy platform, and continue to work towards a more just and equitable New York City. For a number of years, the Progressive Caucus has been a political and budget advocacy powerhouse within the city’s legislative body, with its members passing nearly 50 bills through the Progressive Caucus’ policy platform last term. The Caucus also advocated for millions in budget allocations for initiatives and organizations working for the wellbeing of the most vulnerable New Yorkers. Last year, the Progressive Caucus launched their Resistance & Progress: 18 Policies for 2018 platform at a policy conference attended by more than 200 elected officials, advocates, and community members. The exciting 18-point campaign document outlines the Caucus’ policy priorities for the 2018-2021 New York City Council Term.

“I am so pleased to have been chosen to be Co-Chair by the members of the Progressive Caucus. This pioneering body has worked tirelessly for years advocating for and endorsing numerous bills and progressive issues that have improved the lives of so many individuals. I look forward to working with my colleagues in identifying and promoting issues that are central to this body’s dynamic mission,” said Council Member Diana Ayala, Co-Chair of the Progressive Caucus.

“Over the last several years, the City Council has made tremendous headway in upholding the values important to the Progressive Caucus,” said Council Member Ben Kallos, Co-Chair of the Progressive Caucus. “With the election of our new Speaker Corey Johnson, we look forward to working together to ensure policies that push for a more fair and equitable City and maintain a strong resistance to regressive federal politics. I look forward to continuing the resistance and pushing for the bold reforms of “18 for 18″ with the members of the Progressive Caucus.”

“I am proud to join the leadership of the Progressive Caucus to make sure that New York City remains committed to its progressive ideals,” said Council Member Keith Powers, Vice-Chair of Budget for the Progressive Caucus. “The Caucus has led the charge on issues like immigration, worker protections, women’s rights, and upholding our democratic values. As the Vice-Chair of Budget, I look forward to working with my colleagues to ensure that we promote a fair and equitable budget for New York City in the coming years.”

“Today’s political world requires determined resistance to unjust federal actions; it also demands advancement of local progressive reforms. I am excited to be in the leadership of a Caucus that advocates for policies that will lead to a safer, more just, and equitable City. Our work to end Broken Windows, protect workers and tenants, promote the economy, and build a Sanctuary City will require extraordinary cooperation from all of our partners in the coming year. I am excited to join our new Co-Chairs and Vice-chair for this opportunity to reinforce our priorities, set our agenda and get to work,” said Council Member Carlos Menchaca, Vice-Chair of Civic Engagement.

“It has been an immense honor serving as a Co-Chair of the Progressive Caucus along with Council Member Donovan Richards and the rest of the leadership team. In the last term, the Caucus made tremendous strides in realizing an agenda that promotes equity for New Yorkers. I look forward to working with our new leadership to continue to fight for a more just and fair New York City,” said Council Member Antonio Reynoso, former co-chair of the New York City Council Progressive Caucus.

“It’s an honor to welcome this new leadership who will help bring a fresh perspective to the Progressive Caucus,” said Council Member Donovan Richards, former Co-Chair of the Progressive Caucus. “While the Caucus has made great strides to make our City more equitable over these past few years, we have a lot more work to do and I am confident that our new leadership will help move us forward to better serve New Yorkers and put forward innovative progressive policy.”

“I have been proud to serve on the leadership of the Progressive Caucus, and am thrilled to welcome Keith Powers and our new leadership team. The Progressive Caucus has been dedicated to tackling extremely tough issues such as climate change, homelessness, police-community relations, and gender inequity.  I look forward to working with my colleagues to advance a progressive agenda for New York City in these very challenging times,” said Council Member Helen Rosenthal, former Vice-Chair of Budget.

The Caucus recently welcomed five new Council Members as members of the Progressive Caucus for the 2018-2021 term, including Council Members Alicka Ampry-Samuel, Diana Ayala, Justin Brannan, Keith Powers, and Carlina Rivera. Two of the new members will now serve on the Caucus’ new leadership team.

The full list of 21 members for the 2018-2021 term include:

  1. Council Speaker Corey Johnson (District 3, Manhattan)
  2. Council Member Alicka Ampry-Samuel (District 41, Brooklyn)
  3. Council Member Antonio Reynoso (District 34, Brooklyn & Queens)
  4. Council Member Ben Kallos (District 5, Manhattan)
  5. Council Member Bill Perkins (District 9, Manhattan)
  6. Council Member Brad Lander (District 39, Brooklyn)
  7. Council Member Carlina Rivera (District 2, Manhattan)
  8. Council Member Carlos Menchaca (District 38, Brooklyn)
  9. Council Member Deborah Rose (District 49, Staten Island)
  10. Council Member Diana Ayala (District 8, Bronx & Manhattan)
  11. Council Member Donovan Richards (District 31, Queens)
  12. Council Member Helen Rosenthal (District 6, Manhattan)
  13. Council Member I. Daneek Miller (District 27, Queens)
  14. Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer (District 26, Queens)
  15. Council Member Jumaane D. Williams (District 45, Brooklyn)
  16. Council Member Justin Brannan (District 43, Brooklyn )
  17. Council Member Keith Powers (District 4, Manhattan)
  18. Council Member Margaret Chin (District 1, Manhattan)
  19. Council Member Mark Levine (District 7, Manhattan)
  20. Council Member Steve Levin (District 33, Brooklyn)
  21. Council Member Ydanis Rodriguez (District 10, Manhattan)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s