The Progressive Caucus of the New York City Council is proud to announce our membership for the 2014-2017 term today. The membership of the Caucus has nearly doubled since last term, now including nineteen members from all five boroughs. The goal of the Progressive Caucus is to help advance policies that will create a more just and equal city for all New Yorkers.

The membership list for the 2014-2017 term is as follows:

  • Council Member Margaret Chin (District 1, Manhattan)
  • Council Member Daniel Dromm (District 25, Queens)
  • Council Member Julissa Ferreras (District 21, Queens)
  • Council Member Corey Johnson (District 3, Manhattan)
  • Council Member Ben Kallos (District 5, Manhattan)
  • Council Member Brad Lander (District 39, Brooklyn)
  • Council Member Steve Levin (District 33, Brooklyn)
  • Council Member Mark Levine (District 7, Manhattan)
  • Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito (District 8, Manhattan & Bronx)
  • Council Member Carlos Menchaca (District 38, Brooklyn)
  • Council Member I. Daneek Miller (District 27, Queens)
  • Council Member Antonio Reynoso (District 34, Brooklyn & Queens)
  • Council Member Donovan Richards (District 31, Queens)
  • Council Member Ydanis Rodriguez (District 10, Manhattan)
  • Council Member Deborah Rose (District 49, Staten Island)
  • Council Member Helen Rosenthal (District 6, Manhattan)
  • Council Member Ritchie Torres (District 15, Bronx)
  • Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer (District 26, Queens)
  • Council Member Jumaane Williams (District 45, Brooklyn)

“The Progressive Caucus is a force to be reckoned with,” said Council Member Antonio Reynoso, Co-Chair. “We’re excited about the role this diverse coalition will play in building a more equal and just New York City, and we look forward to partnering with all of our colleagues in the City Council to accomplish that goal.”

“I’m thrilled about the potential of this expanded Progressive Caucus,” said Council Member Donovan Richards, Co-Chair. “Together, we will help advocate for a progressive policy agenda in the New York City Council. It’s an honor to be working with such dynamic and dedicated leaders.”

The Progressive Caucus is under the leadership of Council Members Antonio Reynoso and Donovan Richards (Co-Chairs), Council Member Ben Kallos (Vice-Chair for Policy), Council Member Helen Rosenthal (Vice-Chair for Budget Advocacy), and Council Member Margaret Chin (Treasurer).

Progressive Caucus Members will be determining a policy agenda for 2014 over the coming weeks.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s